Mohammed Babangida’s Music of Africa

If you haven’t heard of Mohammed Babangida, you should definitely check him out! Mohammed Babangida is a Nigerian blog writer that discusses the assorted styles of music that have origins in Africa. Looking into him a bit, I would that his focus is mainly jazz, ragtime, and swing. I don’t know about you, but I’m really waiting for swing dancing to come back so I can learn to do all of those crazy dance moves.

Jazz has always had a special place in my heart because my mother used to play classical jazz on the piano when I was younger. Mohammed Babangida evokes in me the memories of my past and takes me away to a foreign land of drums and savannas. Like a little lost lad, his blog on jazz, ragtime and other forms of music, make me take a step back to allow myself a clean slate to reconsider the origins of popular music styles.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

